Mecklenburg County

Mecklenburg County


Use our property search feature to find hundreds of Mecklenburg County homes for sale and for a list of Mecklenburg county foreclosures.

Mecklenburg County is the county seat for  Charlotte and is the most populous county in the state.

Mecklenburg County was formed in 1762 from the western part of Anson County. It was named for the German Princess Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz (1744-1818) from the German state of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.

In 1768 the part of Mecklenburg County west of the Catawba River became Tryon County. The Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence was allegedly signed on May 20, 1775; if the document is indeed genuine, Mecklenburg County was the first part of the Thirteen Colonies to declare independence from Great Britain. In 1792 the northeastern part of Mecklenburg County became Cabarrus County. Finally, in 1842 the southeastern part of Mecklenburg County was combined with the western part of Anson County to become Union County.

James Knox Polk, the eleventh President of the United States, was born here in 1795 in what is now Pineville.

School Information for Charlotte Mecklenburg School System:

Links for More Information on Charlotte

Museums and libraries

Sports and entertainment

Music and performing arts venues

Amusement parks

Other attractions